Urch Forums

PhD in Accounting - concentration in Tax?

taxhopeful

Hello everyone,

To give you a quick background, I have almost 8 years of corporate tax experience at a Big4. I am considering a move to academia but, due to personal reasons, will start the application process next year. I hope that this forum will shed some light on a few questions that I have.

1. Any recommendations on programs that have strong interest in tax research? Most of the research papers published by schools that I have seen so far (granted I just looked at a few schools) are focused on financial accounting / capital markets. Is it worth pursuing only those programs that have been publishing in tax (which I would prefer), or do I need to "branch out" to other accounting fields, i.e., FA, audit to broaden the pool.
  2. Correct me if I am wrong, but as far as I can tell from the discussions on this forum, practical work experience doesn't play that much of a role once you are past the 2-3 year mark. Would 9 years of public accounting actually hinder my chances of acceptance by T40?

Thanks much!

1. TaxPhD (another frequent visitor here) can probably answer a little better than me. Here are a few schools off the top of my head. UT Austin and UNC have been strong in the field for a long time. MIT and UPenn are excellent programs with some senior tax people. UC Irvine Has Terry Shevlin, but I would be interested in his retirement plans before applying there. Oregon has senior people. I think Iowa still does, they had a tax grad last year place well. UIUC is fairly strong in all areas. I think Texas A&M has graduated tax people recently. Arizona had a strong history of tax, but their most senior faculty member passed away.