Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation for PhD in Strategy

archiekins

Dear All,

I'm new to Urch, so Hello everyone!! :)

I am just starting out on my application process for a PhD in the US or in Asia.

Test Scores (GMAT): 740 ( Q50 V41)

Undegrad GPA: 3.24 - B.Tech from one of the top 10 universities in India

Graduate GPA: 2.80 - MBA from one of the top 5 MBA colleges in India

Research Experience: None

Teaching Experience: 15 months(at the time of application)

Work Experience: 5 years in corporate in marketing - brand management, digital marketing and services marketing

Concentration Applying to: Marketing / Strategy

Number of programs planned to apply to: 15

Dream Schools: PennState, University of Michigan, Duke, Insead

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD?

To become an expert and a knowledge creator in my field

Questions or concerns you have about your profile?

I do not have any research experience to show in my application as we had no dissertations - I'm working on a research paper now, but I feel it is too late though(may not finish by the time the applications are done). I really want to get into a good PhD program to get the best exposure. How can I make my profile better given the application timelines?

Also my graduate GPA is relatively low, primarily due to poor performance in the first year - I had a 3.3 in the second year it but could not recover from the damage done in the first. How will this affect my chances?

Any additional specific questions you may have:

You have rightly identified the weakness in your profile. Will you be able to get good LoR's? They might get you a more serious look despite the weakness in Grad GPA. Also you have to spell out your "purpose" in the SOP very effectively.

Also if you are serious about applying - you should be clear about one out of Marketing vs Strategy PhD that you want to pursue.