Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation_Fall2019_OB

sjk

Hi All. I am applying for both Social Psych (4) and OB programs (11). I believe that I am a strong candidate but the GRE has been my biggest stressor. I just took it this morning and my scores were absolutely devastating. I have been studying for ~3 months and my finals scores were worse than the scores from my first practice test 2 months ago.

Test Scores (GMAT/GRE): Verbal (73rd) Quant (42nd)

Undegrad GPA: 3.87 from a large state school, Psychology major

Graduate GPA: N/A

Research Experiences: I worked as an RA in two neuroscience labs for 2 years. I was a McNair Scholar where I conducted a thesis research project that is much in line with my interests. I have been a lab manager at a top 20 US b school for the last year where I have worked closely will OB researchers and researchers in CB and Accounting.

Teaching Experience: N/A

Work Experience: Nothing relevant other than my current research position. I took two years off during undergrad and worked in retail full time.

Concentration Applying to:OB/Social Psych

Number of programs planned to apply to: 15

Dream Schools: Columbia, UCLA, Northwestern

Other Questions:

What made you want to pursue a PhD? I want to pursue a PhD because I really really enjoy research and believe it is extremely powerful. I am a first gen student, the first in my family to even graduate high school, so having the opportunity to pursue a PhD is something I never even thought was possible. Interests aside, it would be life changing for myself and my family.