Urch Forums

PhD Accounting with a 690 GMAT

frozencpa

Hi, I work as an auditor at a mid-sized public accounting firm in the midwest. Below are my stats from undergrad and GMAT land. I scored a 690, but by split is relatively unfavorable given the weak quant score. Does my profile have a competitive chance to gain admissions to a decent but non elite accounting PhD program such as Purdue, Iowa, Tennessee, Kansas, Missouri, Wisconsin, Florida or Minnesota? My undergrad profile is probably a little underwhelming but I was from a small town and went to a large state school with the singular goal of get a degree, get a job, stay out of the rents' basement. I'd like to be an accounting professor because the role allows for so much more creativity in teaching others and learning about interesting accounting/financial reporting topics.

Undergrad GPA: 3.5-3.6

GMAT: 690 - 44 Q, 40 V

CPA Exams: Passed, licensed

Work Experience: Auditor 2 years

So 690 doesn’t rule you out but it will likely be below average compared to the competition.

The biggest thing you’ll really need to think about is why you want to do a PhD...if the answer is not “do research” you should reconsider. Not to be a jerk, but...

If teaching is your passion, consider trying to teach as a lecturer or adjunct for a semester at a school near you; you can usually do this without a PhD at smaller school.

We had a few people in my program that taught for a year or more before joining the PhD. It gives a look at academia and what aspects might be of the most interest to you.

690 won't rule you out of most of those schools, but your quant score might. I would seriously consider refreshing some math and retaking. You likely need to take some calculus and linear algebra before going to any schools on the higher end of your list anyway

I agree with IDSC. You sound like you don't quite get what a PhD is and you didn't mention any area of accounting research.