Sponsored Ad:

Thread: Profile Evaluation: PhD in Organisational Behavior and HRM

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Profile Evaluation: PhD in Organisational Behavior and HRM

Sponsored Ad:
    Hi guys,

I'm a Research officer and Assistant Lecturer at a reputed, top-ranked University in New Zealand who's interested in a career in academia, and I would love to hear some of your recommendations.

I am applying to OB/HR Ph.D. programs in US Business schools. I believe that I am a strong candidate but the GRE has been my biggest stressor. I just took it yesterday and I totally bombed it (my scores being devastating). I have been studying for ~3 months and my finals scores were worse than the scores from my practice tests.

Background: Indian Male, New Zealand Permanent Resident
    Test Scores (GRE): Verbal (156 - 73rd Percentile) Quant (154 - 57th Percentile), 4.5 AWA
    Undergrad GPA: 3.7 from a top-ranked University in Mumbai, India, Pharmacy major
    Graduate GPA: Have two masters qualifications from AACSB, AMBA & EQUIS accredited Business Schools in NZ.
    1. Master of Business & Management – University of Waikato, NZ: Graduated with a Higher First class honours/Distinction, top 10 of my class (US Equivalent of Magna Cum Laude). GPA: 3.75/4.0
    2. Research Masters in Organisational Behaviour & Human Resource Management (MPhil)- Massey University, NZ: Graduated with a Higher First class honours/Distinction, top 5 of my class (US Equivalent of Summa Cum Laude). GPA: 3.8/4.0.
    I was a Massey Masterate Scholar for my MPhil as I received a Merit-Based Scholarship of $15,000 (as a stipend) along with a tuition waiver. I was one of the four recipients of this highly competitive scholarship from an applicant pool of 400 students.