Urch Forums

Profile evaluation: PhD Business, Marketing (CB)

ssurange

Hi,

I am a working professional in the Indian IT industry. Having completed my education (bachelor's and master's degree) from India, I am planning to pursue PhD in Marketing (Consumer Behaviour track) from the US .

GRE score :

326 (Q166, V160) in the first attempt, expecting ~330 (Q168+, V163) in the second attempt

Undergrad:

• B.E. (Electronics and communication) from an not so known Indian University
  • Scored 73%, equivalent to a 4.0 GPA as per the GPA calculator

Masters degree:

• M.B.A. in Marketing, From Symbisis International University, India
  • CGPA 2.6/4, (seems appalling but Indian GPA systems are a bit different, was still in the top 30% , also the highest GPA ever achieved by anyone in the univ is 3.3)

Work Experience:

6+ years in product management, user experience and marketing strategy for mobile apps and SaaS based products. Have worked in small to mid level technology start-ups, where my role has had a direct say in product/market strategy. Was granted ESoPs by one of the start-ups as well.

Have analysed live user data of over 80 million users over a period of 2 years, hence have a very empirical understanding of different aspects of consumer behaviour, especially in the digital marketing environment.

Research experience (while pursuing MBA)

• Market research projects for 2 start-ups
  • Dissertation: Factors influencing churn and user retention for the telecom market in India
  • Industrial research :Social vs operational factors, which ones being the most influential in making users switch to another telecom service
  • Industrial research: Effect of six-sigma process implementation (by telecom companies) in reducing the customer churn