Urch Forums

Which is more worthy? Direct Ph.D program or MA program+Ph.D program

mike_banana

It is known to me that enrolling in a direct Ph.D program take students average five years.While attending a MA program in Econ is about 1-2 years, i guess.(If i'm wrong, correct me).

So after holding a Master degree in one univ, applying to another univ, a more well-esteemed Ph.D program in Econ, maybe top10, how many years might it be taken? still 5 years? or 5 minus 1-2(Master program years)?

I am an international student, so not very clear about this.

Appreciate every thought of my question, thank you guys.:tup:

"everything, everything is still a blur...":D

I've been trying to find that out also. From what I gathered, generally - you will not be able to cut down time on the programme as you still have to take the core and elective courses and do all the requirements. However, you may have a better idea on what you want to do in terms of research, so it could cut down time on that.

I've been trying to find that out also. From what I gathered, generally - you will not be able to cut down time on the programme as you still have to take the core and elective courses and do all the requirements. However, you may have a better idea on what you want to do in terms of research, so it could cut down time on that.

so you mean a MA then Ph.D may take more years than a Ph.D program

wow, my youth~~~:hmm:

thank you

Some schools such as Stanford say they'll let you take the comprehensive exams for metrics and theory to cut a year or two off the PhD program. They won't give you unit credit, though. As far as I know, most schools don't let you transfer work from other programs.

Stanford[clap]

It is known to me that enrolling in a direct Ph.D program take students average five years.While attending a MA program in Econ is about 1-2 years, i guess.(If i'm wrong, correct me).