Urch Forums

Any possibility for Top 10 PhD Programme? (as an undergrad applicant?)

evan247

I'm currently a 1st year Maths student at Cambridge (3 year course) and would like to apply for Phd in Econ. But I'm not sure it'd be easier if I finish Master degree before applying? Coz I can hardly find good research opportunities here as an undergrad.:(

Btw, any advice for prep from now on? (research, paper, reference, etc.)

Try to take Part III of the tripos as well. There are some courses in part III that will be useful for graduate school.

Also, consider doing an MPhil in econs after that. I hear Oxford has a good program. Otherwise, LSE MSc EME is a good option.

Somehow, people don't seem to think very highly of Cambridge's MPhil econs. But if it comes to that, you may want to do that before applying for a PhD, after you finish your BA.

Most "Top 10" decisions get decided by the LORs, I believe. Without having any idea of how strong they are and how reputable the adcoms will regard the authors, it's impossible to really know whether a Top 10 admission is possible.

If your undergrad degree is only 3 years, then I think that some sort of Master's is quite important: preferably at LSE or Oxford rather than Cambridge (as a previous poster mentioned, for whatever reason Cambridge Master's students don't seem to place as well into super-elite PhD Econ programs as applicants from LSE or Oxford).

OP, if you want more info, you can pm me and we can meet up for a chat.