Urch Forums

UC Berkeley or UCLA Applied Math Undergrad?

Style

I'm a community college student who just got accepted to UC Berkeley and LA as an Applied Math major. Does anyone know which program is better for getting into an econ PhD program? It looks like it might be possible to switch to Math/Econ at UCLA while it looks like it might be tough to take any economics classes at Berkeley.

How hard is it to take econ courses at Berkeley? Is it a matter of not being able to get into higher level classes? I mean, if there's a way you can interact with the Berkeley faculty, that will be a lot better than if you went to UCLA. Coming out from Berkeley with recommendations from UCB professors will do you a lot better than if you got them from UCLA ones, I would think - on average, and depending whether they get to know you enough. When you say it might be "tough", if there's a chance you can take classes (I would talk to professors and tell them about your interest for a phd program, that may help you get into classes easier), as long as it doesn't mean almost impossible.. I'd go to Berkeley.

My natural inclination is to say UCLA. If you are sure that you can't take any econ courses at Berkeley, then I think UCLA is a better choice.

UCLA is plenty good enough, as an undergraduate institution, for you to have a good shot at getting into any graduate program. The difference between Berkeley and UCLA for an undergrad, I think, is a lot less than as a grad student.

I was an Econ and Applied Math double-major at Berkeley. Speaking from my own experience, I highly recommend the undergrad program at Berkeley for (but not limited to) the follow reasons: