Urch Forums

NYU CAS Econ Theory vs NYU CAS Econ for PhD in Economics

Saint

Hello,

Currently I am a sophomore undergraduate at NYU Stern but have decided after some long thought that I want to go into a more serious study of economics and so plan on transferring into CAS this spring. However I am not sure whether to go down the Economic Theory track or through more traditional economic coursework. I hope someone on this forum will be able to point me in the right direction. I have already met and talked with several advisors and professors. Usually the response leans toward Economic Theory but tell me that in terms of placement there is not a large enough difference and that I should follow more towards my interests. In either case I would still compliment the major with a double major in mathematics from Courant. I have read this forum as thoroughly as possible and attempted to search for this information so I apologize if this question has already been answered elsewhere.

This is a list of the course descriptions and sequence:

NYU > Economics Department > Majors, Minors and Honors

NYU > Economics Department > Course Offerings

Thank you for any help you can provide me with.

From the link you gave, I would recommend doing the "joint" econ-math major rather than going for a double major. The math looks more than sufficient (Analysis I & II are required) and you wouldn't have to take unrelated math classes such as algebra (which I assume you have to take if you are a full math major.)

Actually, I wouldn't do either of these things. You should stay in Stern, in my opinion.