Urch Forums

Will I have a chance at top schools?

lessthanjake

Okay well, I suppose this thread amounts to asking what my chances are to get into top econ PhD programs. However, I am not just making this thread out of nervousness. I am a junior in undergrad and I need to figure out what direction I want to go: econ PhD, political science PhD, or law school. Getting an Economics PhD and becoming a professor is probably my first choice in terms of what career I want overall. However, for reasons that will become clear, I am not sure if I will have a chance at top Economics PhD programs. If I won't have a chance at top Economics programs, then I'd rather go for a political science PhD or law school. In that case, the classes I take from now on will be different, as might the professors I ask to do research with etc etc.

So the point is that my current assessment of what my chances will be to get into top economics PhD programs will determine a lot of what I do in the next couple years of undergrad.

Anyways, here's some relevant info that will help assess my chances. Bear in mind that I HAVE read through a lot of threads, including stickied ones on this forum. I just feel like I haven't found the answers to many of my exact questions:

Undergrad: Brown University

GPA: 3.94 (obviously since I'm a junior, this can change for better or worse, but let's just assume it stays the same)

Economics Concentrator with a 4.0 in Economics classes

I obviously haven't taken the GRE yet, but based on how I've done on practice tests, let's say I get the following:

Verbal: 700

Quantitative: 800

Analytic Writing: 5.5