Urch Forums

Bad GRE Retake, retake the retake?

grackle

I always managed to have questions that haven't come up before...

I graduated in 2008, took the GRE and got 770Q 650V 5.5AWA. I've been working since then. Planning on going back for Fall 2011, and decided to try and get higher on the GRE. Just took it today and got 700Q 680V ??AWA (not sure what happened, I felt like I was prepared).

So, should I try and retake it again in early November? My current thought right now is no, and that adcoms will use the highest score (the 770), which is fine but not great. I'm just worried about how the 700 looks (maybe it's possible to explain away as a bad day?).

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

In terms of school range, I'd love to go somewhere in the top 10 (wouldn't we all?), but those schools tend to be a toss-up even with a strong application, so I think I'm only going to end up applying to 3-4 top 10 schools (including some business school programs at top 10 econ schools).

More realistically, the 10-50 range. I think I have a good application aside from GRE scores (MS in Public Policy with a number of PhD Econ and optimization courses, PhD Econ math, good GPA, relevant work experience, etc.)

After some further pondering, I think I have three options:

1. Study more and retake in 2-3 weeks. Pros: Recent knowledge of the test, hopefully won't repeat the bad day I had on the test yesterday. Cons: Looks bad if I don't do well.

2. Apply with my 770. Pros: Not a terrible score, still valid. Cons: Not an 800.

3. Wait for the new GRE next fall, study hard for that, and try to get an 800. Pros: Lots of time to study. Cons: Lots of time to study.

Leaning towards #2 right now...

I do know that the scoring is changing (130 to 170 in 1 point increments), so presumably departments are going to have to change how interpret and use the scores.