Urch Forums

Advice?

roncampb

Hey guys,

I'm back again, and looking for some advice from the experts. My question is broad, so I'm sure that the advice can really vary. But, I'd appreciate any help.

A little background, I graduated from a decent state school with a degree in Economics..Did not have a special gpa at all, because I just simply didn't work hard(3.2)

I worked in the corporate sector and got some solid work experience(3.5 years).

I decided to go back and get my masters in International Economcis and Finance from a small LAC. Nothing real special, but it's a decent school. I am one year in, and just a semester to go with a gpa of 3.964. So, it is going well but mainly because I work hard now. So, I've gotten all A's in the graduate level classes with an A- in Global Macro.

Either way, I've been contemplating doing a ph.d. in Economics, and I might be starting a family soon, so it may be tough to pull off. But, not entirely out of the question. So, I'm thinking about possibly doing another Masters in Economics but at a good school such as Duke. A school that could help me get a good private or public sector job. I'm hoping that a good grad gpa will help some. So my question is, do you think it is a decent idea to go back and get another Masters in Economics? My degree was a little different than the standard masters in economics, so I was hoping that there would be some variation at Duke or some other top schools. Also, what about doing a Masters in Financial Economics? Are there any other brand name American schools to consider?

Oh btw, I'm way behind on math. I took calc 1 and finite in undergrad and got a B and B+ respectively. But that was soo long ago, that I plan to start over, and I'm confident that I can do much better considering I didn't really care a whole lot then.

Thanks for the help.