Urch Forums

A really, really, really bad GRE score

ilk07

Hello all,

I'm an undergrad studying economics at a top 30 program. I recently took the GRE, and it was an absolute disaster. I mean, it went really bad. So I got the embarrassingly low score of... 680. Yes, 680. I froze. I was running low on time, panicked, causing me to make more mistakes, causing me to run out of time more, causing me to end the test guessing on the last 8+ questions and not even answering the final 4. And in case it is relevant, I also got a 5 on the analytical writing (before my test-panic) and a 510 on Verbal (after my little freak-out).

I think I can really pull up my score when I retake the test in a week. My problem was that I never timed myself while doing practice tests. Stupid, I know. So since then I've started using a stopwatch and I try to get easy questions in under 1 minute and more difficult ones in under 2. What I'm worried about is that even if I get an 800 on the next test programs will still see my 680. How poorly do you think this will reflect upon my application? Do you think I'll be ruled out because of a bad test day?

I also haven't taken enough math. I've only finished Calculus, Statistics and Quantitative Methods for Economists. I'll be taking the grad level Quant. for Econ. this fall in addition to Linear Algebra and Probability, and I'll be enrolling in Numerical Analysis and possibly Diff Eq in the spring. However, I've done very well in all the math courses I have taken, and I'm hoping that, if I do well in grad level Quant for Econ, my lack of intense math background won't be as much a problem. However, do you think that limited exposure to math courses combined with a low first score on the GRE will be a problem? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.