Urch Forums

Please advice on Personal Statement - Particular Circumstances

andr3w84

First of all, thank you for taking the time to read this thread. I'm applying to a PhD in Mineral Economics at an Australian University. I've got everything sorted out, except for the personal statement. I've read many samples online, quite impressive but not very helpful as my personal circumstances are rather unique:

* Even though I have an overall average of A in my undergraduate and 2 postgraduate degrees (strength), I've been working as carpenter in Australia for the last 5 years (weakness) as my work exp before migrating was in a smaller mining company without presence in this region, etc and the money from carpentry was indeed good and steady. However, the love for learning and academic improvement was always there (strength), so earlier this year I contacted a few departments and one professor in particular is very keen to recommend my admission. He is well impressed with my research proposal as well (strength), which is within Australia's key strategic research areas and also very related to my mining work exp (strength) and his research interests (strength).

* My ug is in Electronic Engineering and my pgs are in Economics and Corporate Finance. My initial work exp was in telecommunications (5 ys) (weakness) and switched to mining (2 ys) after the pgs. (strength)

* The mineral economics department is within the (large) business school, which to me is very appealing (large and diverse student body, with varied professional objectives). (strength)

* I grew up in a mining town; I've been acquainted with this industry and its way of life since birth; many people in my family and circle of friends work there. (strength)

* By all means I would be an older applicant. I'm 38 (weakness), with partner but no kids. However, I've lived in England and the US, travelled a fair bit, and regard myself as someone broad minded, well rounded and experienced. (strength)