Urch Forums

Advice for 2014

Stanajust

Hello,

I am a student doing my msc in economics in Canada an average university (I wasnt really focused on academia in undergrad: 3.1 gpa). I am doing much better in grad school since I decided I wanted to pursue a Phd. I hopefully will be graduating top of my class with a 4.0 gpa. I scored a 167 on the quant part of the GRE and I am interested in doing research in market imperfections. I will be getting excellent recommenation letters from professors who went to top US institutions. I also may co author an article before I graduate from my masters.

However, I have no idea where to apply given my background and my research interest.

Any piece of advice would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Stan

Now in the correct format:

Here it is:

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: Finance

Undergrad GPA: 3.1

Type of Grad: Economics

Grad GPA: 4.0 (top of the class)

GRE: 167Q 160V

Letters of Recommendation: 3 excellent letters of recommendation from professors who went to top 20 US universities

Research Experience: MSc Thesis on market imperfections

Teaching Experience: Graduate Micro

Research Interests: Market imperfections, Macro

Concerns: Low undergrad gpa

Edited by Stanajust

Honestly, go open up about 10 different department websites per day and look through all faculty CVs. Read the abstracts of their papers and see which ones you really like...then look for co-authors on those papers. It will all start to make sense as to which programs have people you are interested in working with

Your profile sounds pretty similar to mine. I was admitted broadly to programs ranked between 30 and 40. Programs ranked 15-25 weren't so interested in me. Our undergraduate GPAs are a major flaw.

So there is pretty much no way to overcome that. I don't know if publishing an article could help make up for the undergrad gpa. Should I be pushing for that or is it not going to make that big a difference?