Urch Forums

Why Economics Undergraduates Should Switch Disciplines

Humanomics

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

While I don't regret majoring in economics at all, I do wish that I had doubled up in another social science. Sociology, Psychology, and Linguistics all appealed to me.

This is a good point -- the post is aimed at the economics undergraduate who's considering which graduate programs to apply to. As an undergraduate, I had the fortune of getting the standard economics sequence, including topics courses (these are valuable for intuition and taste if taught well), a nice start with mathematics in the math dept. that I wouldn't have gotten without being pushed, and nice dash of other social sciences and humanities, like linguistics, rhetoric, sociology, and history by working with McCloskey. I think some mix like that is a really ideal combination of undergraduate training if you think you might like to switch out of economics proper long run. Though do keep on track with mathematics if you want to stay primarily quantitative or do computational stuff -- you will be in the running with math and CS orphans in these subfields even if you switch out of economics.

I don't know why Graham writes these kinds of posts... He's just asking for trouble here and on ejmr! :-D

My two cents;

I'm of the opinion that Noah Smith and graham's posts are akin to a stock market tip... One says do an Econ phd, because XYZ, the other says don't do an Econ phd, because PQR. They both can't be right. People's revealed preferences make me lean one way but each individual has to weigh the pros and cons.

Of course you'll never succeed if you aren't passionate about your field. If you are passionate about more than one, good for you!

People's revealed preferences make me lean one way but each individual has to weigh the pros and cons.