Urch Forums

Current Undergraduate Profile Evaluation: Advice for Grad School

mmoya

Hello everyone,

I would GREATLY appreciate any advice or suggestions

I am a current undergraduate at the University of Florida (United States). Our graduate program has recently cut funding and we are no longer accepting graduate students(therefore, our overall ranking in economics will fall dramatically).

They are pushing me to graduate by August 2014. I am a current senior, but I plan to do post bac in order to further build my credentials. That being said,my current profile is

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: B.A. In Economics, Large Public University currently ranked 48tth in Econ

Undergrad GPA: 3.2/3.3

Type of Grad: N/A

Grad GPA: N/A

GRE: will be taking this Fall 2014

Math Courses: Calc 1 (B); Calc 2 (B-); Fundamentals of Mathematics (intro to proofs class) (B); Linear Algebra (N/A)(currently taking this semester); Multivariate Calculus ©; Intro to Real Analysis 1 (N/A)(planning to take Fall 2014); College Algebra (B), Precalc (A) Trig (A)

Econ Courses (undergrad-level): Beginning Micro / Macro class (A); Statistics for Economics (A); International Macro (A); Intermediate Macro (B+); Intermediate Micro (B+); International Econ (B+); Economic Empirical course (B+)

Other Courses: Statistics for Economics (A)

Letters of Recommendation:

1.) Economics Honors Coordinator at my university who supervised my research paper. He is a well renowned professor who obtained his PhD from the University of Chicago

2.) I should be taking taking the Grad Micro Theory course at my school and hopefully acquire a LoR from the professor who is also the Grad Coordinator of our school. He obtained his PhD from Yale

3.) After completing Linear, I plan to ask my professor for a LoR. He completed his PhD from Darmouth