Urch Forums

Scratch to PhD

rutten

Hi all,

Over the past year I have taken an interest in Economics. I was researching graduate programs online and saw that Masters programs aren't particular 'worth it'? From what I gather, the recommendation is generally to go the whole hog to PhD.

Now, I have a BA in American Studies from a mid-table UK university - pretty much completely unrelated. In the UK, we focus on our major straightaway and are not given the option to take math or stats courses at uni. Therefore, I have no math background to speak of (I got a B in Math and a C in Stats at 'high school', from what I remember, and that's it). No econ or real business experience to speak of (I taught English in South Korea after graduating).

I'll be emigrating to the US in the next few months as I married an American, so I'm talking about US requirements here.

My question is: if I start taking math, econ and stats courses in summer 2015 and, for the sake of argument, I ace them all and get a competitive GRE score to boot, how long will it take to take all the relevant courses needed to get into an econ PhD? Do you think I have a chance getting into a program at all?

Brutally honest answers are welcome :) Thanks in advance!

I was researching graduate programs online and saw that Masters programs aren't particular 'worth it'? From what I gather, the recommendation is generally to go the whole hog to PhD.

This advice is only relevant to North American applicants from North American schools who majored in Econ and did well in those classes. You will note that you tick none of those checkboxes!