Urch Forums

declining an accepted offer

Romanman

I have a rich man's problem and I really need some advice here:

I was accepted (fully funded) to a top 20 university and accepted the offer. Additionally, I was already in contact with the economics department and grad school, sent all of my paper and they began processing my file.

Today (15/4), I was offered admission from a top 10 school (also fully funded).

What are the consequences of declining after accepting? I understand this is ethically wrong, but this is my life...

Can the top 20 school give me any problems?

Moreover, I'm an international student and I'm worried they might mess with my visa application.

What should I do? how common/understandable is declining an accepted offer?

Does your top 20 school abide by the CGS resolution that says: "In those instances in which a student accepts an offer before April 15, and subsequently desires to withdraw that acceptance, the student may submit in writing a resignation of the appointment at any time through April 15."? You can find the text here: http://www.cgsnet.org/ckfinder/userfiles/files/CGS_Resolution.pdf

Since you've been in touch with the top 20 school, I would suggest talking to them about it. Some friends have been in a similar situation and talking with the chair of the program you've already accepted isn't a bad idea. It will also give you an idea of whether or not the school will give you problems in the future. If you're "moving up" in a sense, I don't think they would give you a hard time.

But again, this is from a small sample (my friends) in Canada. We might just be friendlier up here, :)

Hmm. In my opinion, strictly going by to the CGS agreement, you should be able to withdraw your acceptance. But I am not at all familiar with exactly how it is implemented, though, so perhaps someone else who has more knowledge of this can comment.