Urch Forums

I need serious opinions

gccg

Hello all, I am posting here because I would like to ask for some opinions about my situation. Since March I am doing research with a professor because I would like to apply to a PhD program whether in USA or UK. But, I don't have a strong economic background because I studied Industrial Engineering in a South American country. I have already studied a master so I have lived the hard life that postgraduate gives.

The opinions that I am looking for are: which ways do you recommend me to achieve a PhD program (Master in UK->PhD, PhD USA or a Chilean master-my country->PhD) and with my actual profile, I do have certain chances to be admitted in a graduate program (top 50, preference top 30, dream top 10).

My profile is something like this:

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: Industrial Engineering (4 years Bachelor+2 professional title)

Undergrad GPA: Don't have the conversion (5.6 of a scale 1-7), but I was top one (in grades) in Bachelor of Engineering Science

Type of Grad: Management Science

Grad GPA: Don't have the conversion (6 of a scale 1-7), first student (in grades)

GRE: Not taken yet

Math Courses: Introduction to Calculus, Differential Calculus, Multivariate Calculus, Differential Equations, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Statisticas and Probabilities, Applied Statistics, Modeling Workshop, Probability and Sthocastic Processes (master), Statistics for Management (master).

Econ Courses: Introduction to Economics, Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, Industrial Organization, Topics in Games Theory (master), Econometrics (master).

Other Courses: Optimization, Operations Research, Calculus and Optimization (Master), Multivariate Analysis (master), Revenue Management and other physics courses.

Letters of Recommendation: The one I'm working with (graduated from Yale and is a professor at USC) and another one who is a chief of a division in IDB. I'm looking for another strong letter from an economist.