Urch Forums

Self-taught math good enough for econ PhD applications

jcusack1

I am a senior double major in business management and accounting and I am interested in getting my PhD in econ. I have not taken many math classes in college (business calculus & finite math) but I have taken a lot of econ classes and done well(I think all A's). I have one more year but don't have enough credit hours to finish my double majors and take math classes. I also took econometrics and got an A.

I know self-taught math will hurt my application to PhD programs but by how much? Is there no way I can get into a top 50,100 program? Is there a standardized test I can take to prove my math abilities?

It will hurt it a lot. I don't see you getting into a T50 program with only business calc and finite math on your transcript. There is no standardized test that can prove your math abilities as the GRE is too easy and the Math GRE is too hard. Most other people in your position go back for 1 or 2 years as a non-degree student and take some hard math classes. I'm not sure a master's program will help you much either since your deficiency is in math, not econ. Besides, I'm not sure you have enough math for most top-level MA programs either.

Reputable economics programs often have as a minimum requirement both multivariate calculus and linear algebra. I do not see your application getting reviewed anywhere in the top-50 without your recommenders calling on your behalf and insisting that you are somebody like the next Steven Levitt.

So what if I audit those classes like calc and linear algebra