Urch Forums

Where should I apply for PhD (US/Europe)?

econindia

I completed a master's program in economics two years back in india with scores among the top 5% and one semester of an Mphil (discontinued). I have a year long gap afterwards and am currently hold an RA position. I am confident about doing well in GRE and would like to apply for a good PhD program next year, my areas of interest are: Labour Econ and Experimental Econ. I am interested in applying to Europe and US (I'd prefer living in Europe). Which universities should I be realistically targeting? These are my preferred choices (not in order of preference), do suggest more or shoot down the ones which am unlikely to be accepted at:

Tilburg, Toulouse, Bonn, Mannheim, Munich, NYU, Colombia, Brown, NWU, Yale, UC-Davis, Cornell

P.S: math and stat courses in undergrad and masters (Linear algebra and Calculus, Introductory Mathematical Methods, Mathematical Methods, Introductory statistics, Statistical Methods, Econometric Methods)

Edited by econindia
adding info

Hi there :)

If you like experimental econ, you could have a look at Nottingham, U East Anglia, and Warwick. If you are keen on the overlap with Labour, and are interested in, say, behavioural labour economics you could look at the GSEFM (Frankfurt+Mainz+Darmstadt) in Germany, Mainz has an interesting macroeconomics group here who looks at behavioural macro and behavioural labour.

Disclaimer: I am biased since I did my masters at Notts and am going for phd at the GSEFM :D but the placement record at the GSEFM is excellent (see here), and Notts is a great place to live in and the guys for experimental are all very good and very accessible and friendly people (Starmer, Renner, Cubitt, etc.) and though I did not take the module, I only heard good things about the labour guy (R. Upward), not sure about the publications in labour though, but in experimental Notts definitely an interesting choice :D