Urch Forums

BU's MA in Economics VS. JHU's MS in Applied Economics

rachel0801

I am looking to start this coming January (Spring term) and I'm mainly struggling between BU's MA in Economics and JHU's MS in Applied Economics.

I have been working and living in DC since 2011 but my contract ends at the end of November, i am an international and i am thinking of going full time at either institution, and my main purpose is not to pursue PhD (tho i will have this option open for anytime in the future) but to advance in my job. I currently work at an international organization where my responsibilities are very politics-policy oriented. The main reason why I want a degree in Economics is, these days, the demand for candidates with quantitative techniques and the ability to analyze data, and evaluate evidence is becoming so high. Especially knowledge in Econometrics just seems so essential in many organizations (int'l lending institutions, think tanks, etc) and i really want to scale up my skills in this area, and get a job in policy analysis field and i feel like DC is the mecca for it. One of the reasons why I am leaning towards JHU's MS in applied econ.

But i know that the program is full of government bureaucrats (not to diminish them or anything) and almost all of them are working professionals, which also means that the program might lack competence academic-wise. However, the fact that they are all working professionals can work in favor, as it will enable me to form networks.