Urch Forums

Advice for a Former PhD Re-Applicant

AREStudentHopeful

Hi all,

I tried to make a new account to post this (and delete this account) but the cogs seem to turn slowly around here so I figure, what do I have to lose :). If anything, others can learn what not to do from my story.

My current situation is that I am working in the private sector after exiting a PhD program. I got a bachelors in econ from a regional state school and then went to a masters program in ag economics. I have an ABD for the masters degree (which I could finish - I defended the thesis, I just had minor edits left and then final submission to the graduate school) due to getting an acceptance from a top 40/50 econ PhD program and thinking "I don't need that masters now, I'm in a PhD program!" Stupid move, I know. I began the PhD program but during my second quarter I sustained an injury which didn't allow me to write for a long period. At the time I was "going it alone" by not being in a study group and rarely seeking help from professors. To further hurt my case, I did not do a good job communicating my difficulty with the injury to the department and I wasn't even able to attend class during my final quarter. I ended up withdrawing from the program without taking first year qualifiers (but still having the failing grades from the 2nd and 3rd quarters due to the injury). I realize that the fault was entirely my own. I did a poor job communicating with my professors and with my fellow students - something I had been told was essential for the first year of the PhD program.