Urch Forums

Sophomore, questions about grades and course planning

robotlincoln

Hi all,

I'm currently a sophomore at a top-10 economics school, planning to do a double-major in statistics and economics, and thinking about going for a PhD. However, my grades in my first two semesters were somewhat poor, and I'm wondering what I should do to improve them / prove to top schools that I can handle a PhD program.

This is what I've got so far in the way of technical classes:

First Semester:

Intro Calculus-Based Physics (B-)

Multivariate Calculus ©

Intro Economics (Micro and Macro) (B+)

Second Semester:

Linear Algebra and Differential Equations (A-)

Mathematical Probability (B+)

Discrete Mathematics (B)

Current GPA: 3.14

Current Schedule (Fall 2014):

Intermediate Micro

Statistical Computing

Intro to Research in Statistics (seminar)

Plan for Next Semester:

Intermediate Macro

Honors Multivariate Calc (more proof-based, but counts as a repeat of first)

Second Course in Linear Algebra (we're using Axler's book)

Mathematical Statistics

The statistics department won't allow me to declare the major with a C in Multivariable Calc, so I'm going to be taking the honors version of it next semester as a repeat, however, under my school's repeat policy that won't affect my GPA.

Honestly, I'm scared by how many people on this forum claim you need to have straight As (and few A-s) for admission to good programs. Generally in my math/stats classes, only 10-15% of students get As, maybe 20-25% counting A-s. But, assuming I can pull my grades up to that level, my questions are:

How much will my early grades affect me if I'm able to improve to mostly A/A-s in upper-div courses, and decide to go for a PhD? What should I do to make up for them?

What internship opportunities should I look into this summer with my low GPA? (I had been hoping to work at my regional fed bank, would that be possible with a ~3.3?)