Urch Forums

Can high GMAT substitute for math background?

shockjock

I'm looking into a career change. I'm almost 30 yrs old. I have a grad degree from a top program in my current field, but it's not a math-related field. If I'm serious about getting into a decent program, is it absolutely necessary to correct my formal lack of a math background? Or is it possible to get into a decent program without having taken advanced math classes way back when I did my undergrad. Any suggestions or thoughts appreciated. Thanks.

Most programs require the GRE not the GMAT. Decent programs generally require both a good GRE score AND having taken advanced math classes. The math on the GRE and GMAT is basic math and doesn't even include calculus. When you say your math was not advanced, it would be helpful if you can post what specific classes you took.

You're not gonna just walk into an economics program with no math background. You may be able to walk into a public policy or public administration phd if you have an elite under grad and graduate background with good grades and strong test scores. In a program like that you could study optimal tax and regulatory policies if you are interested in econ for its business applications. But most programs require calc 1-3, linear and math stats.

Most programs require the GRE not the GMAT. Decent programs generally require both a good GRE score AND having taken advanced math classes. The math on the GRE and GMAT is basic math and doesn't even include calculus. When you say your math was not advanced, it would be helpful if you can post what specific classes you took.