Urch Forums

Should I get a PhD in Economics?

kevin1297

Hi,

I am currently an sophomore at Occidental College, a top 40 liberal arts college in California. I am a International Relations and Economics double major, with a math minor, and am thinking of applying to econ PhD programs, but am not sure. I have written down everything that I can think of about my opinions of economics grad school and what I want to do for a career, with the hope that I can get a definitive answer about whether or not a PhD program is right for me.

Things that I have thought about regarding economics:

I've always found myself interested in the economics of transition, developing, and non-market economies.

I always wondered about which policies would be most effective to pursue growth in these kinds of economies, and would often imagine myself, "pulling the levers" of the economy, in other words, what would I do if I could make policy decisions?

To me, the economies mentioned above are much more interesting than traditional developed economies because they represent either frontiers (developing and transition economies) or economies "out of the box" of traditional Keynesian and Hayekian models (non market economies). In addition, because my parents grew up behind the Iron Curtain, this furthered my interest in non-market economies.

I love learning, and would frequently read journal articles in my free time on economics, and I am very passionate about the subject

Regarding math, I like it when I know what to do and can solve the problem. In calc now for example, I get frustrated if I don't get the material, but when I can solve a problem, I really enjoy it.

In addition, I am going to Uganda this summer for two months to work with an NGO to improve it's reach and quality of effectiveness, to see how much I like development, but I'm not sure at this point. I have had three internships so far: