Urch Forums

LSE EME vs Oxford Mphil

Econanon

Hi all,

I need some advice on which Master's program to attend. My eventual goal is going for a PhD in the US (preferably top-10)

Oxford's MPhil is 2 years and has a research component. That is a big plus given that I have limited research experience. Also, it would be easier to get LoR's from professors because I will apply in my second year.

However, LSE's EME (1-year) is very famous for consistently placing their graduates in top-10 PhD programs in the US. Some people take a gap year and apply after completing the program, and work as an RA during that time.

I could also apply during my year in LSE, but then I would probably need to apply with LoR's from my undergrad institution.

It's very difficult to get any information on how these programs compare in their placements. I've also heard that Oxford generally tries to keep students in its PhD program after the Mphil, so they don't send many students across the Atlantic.

Any advice is welcome!

Well coming from either institution won't put you at any sort of disadvantage, regardless of your choice, you pretty much have to decide between awesome 1 and awesome 2 :D

If your profile really is lacking in relevant research experience, then perhaps Oxford would be more suited for you, it would also allow you to cement your knowledge of theoretical economics (don't know how much you actually need it, depending on your background).