Urch Forums

Cambridge MPhil Economic Research VS Duke M.A. Economics

PUBRY

Hi,

I have got several offers from those so-called "stepping stones" masters, including

Cambridge MPhil Economic Research,

Duke M.A. Econ (40% tuition waiver),

LSE Msc Econ,

TSE M1(Full Funding),

UBC M.A. Econ, U

Chicago Harris MACRM

CUHK MPhil Econ (Full Funding)

Due to some personal reasons, I would consider Cambridge MPhil and Duke M.A. only.

My goal is the top 20 Economics PhD program in the US or Oxbridge or LSE in the UK,

so Cam and Duke: Which one might be better?

Any comments are welcomed!

-----------------------------------------------------

Some updates about my profile:

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: I am currently a fourth-yr student in China, my university is also called "China's LSE", which is famous for its social sciences.

Undergrad GPA: Overall GPA: 3.80/4.00 (5%); GPA in the third year: 3.98/4.00 (1%)

GRE: 170(Q)+154(V)

Math Courses: Not so many, but nearly straight A, Calculus I, II, Linear Algebra, Probability Theory and Mathematical Statistics, Statistics, Metrics

Letters of Recommendation: All from my undergradute institution

Research Experience: 4 research assistantships (2 in Behavioral and Experimental Economics; 2 in Development Economics)

Teaching Experience: Principles of Micro, Macro; Experimental Econmics

Research Interests: Applied Micro, esp Behavioral and Experimental Economics; Development and Growth

Edited by PUBRY

For UK programs, I would strongly recommend Cambridge. You would need to end up in the top 30-20% in your cohort though, which is less easy then it sounds. No clue on Duke vs Cambridge for US T20; agree with ZYX that it probably also depends on your background .

As much as I like to sell my own MSc institution (Notts) over Cambridge, I have to admit that for a PhD in the UK, Cambridge will do you a world of good, not to mention that it obviously is an excellent programme :)