Urch Forums

Profile evaluation: mediocre undergrad, but hey - at least I majored in math :)

EustaciaVye

Hi Everyone

I posted my profile a while back and got a couple of responses, but I thought I'd try once more, now that I have another semester's worth of grades, to see if there were any more takers. To those that responded previously, thank you so much and please don't feel obliged to do so again. I'll be applying for fall 2015.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BA in math, flagship state university ranked 80's in US News, no econ grad program.

Undergrad GPA: 3.63

Type of Grad: Just completed first year of MA in Econ at a flagship state university in a different state with a masters but no doctoral program

Grad GPA: 4.0

GRE: 170V /168Q /5 AW

Math Courses (undergrad level): Calc I/II/III (A-/B/B) Linear Algebra (B+) Fundamentals of Mathematics (A - intro to proofs) Ordinary Differential Equations (B+) Combinatorial Theory (A) Abstract Algebra I (A-) Applied Probability (A) Elementary Number Theory (A-) Mathematical Biology and Ecology (A) Real Analysis I (A) Statistics I (A)

Math Courses (masters level): Mathematical Statistics (Fall 2015)

Econ Courses (undergrad level): Intermediate micro (A) :)

Econ Course (masters level): Micro I/II (A/A) Econometrics I/II (A/A) Macro (Fall 2015)

Letters of Recommendation: One from my advisor, one from a micro professor, one from a metrics professor. They will be good but I can't assume they'll be phenomenal.

Research Experience: 2 years as an RA in my masters program, will write a masters thesis

Teaching experience: Taught high school for two years, not that its relevant

Research Interests: Public Economics, Health

SOP: Haven't written