Urch Forums

Interested in PhD economics

Jeremy

My major is quantitative finance, but I am very interested in macroeconomics and econometrics. I plan to purse a PhD in economics. Because of lack of economics theory training, I think I should go to MA degree first. And I know that MA programs leading to PhD are very limited, and I may not have a good recommendation letter (this is a big drawback). I don't know whether my RA experience in a Asian central bank helps me or not. I list some of my courses for your reference: grades are good

ECON: Introductory Microeconomics, Introductory Marcoeconomics, Game Theory, Intermediate Marcoeconomics

MATH: Calculus and Advanced Calculus (3 courses), Linear Algebra (2 courses), Numerical analysis, Probability theory, Ordinary Differential Equations

I haven't taken any pure analysis courses, such as Real Analysis, but I will take more math courses in the coming year.

STAT: Statistical Inference and Probability (2 course), Stochastic Process, Applied Linear Regression, Time Series

Does anyone help me analyze my situation and give me some advice on grad school selection?

Thanks a lot.

You need econometrics in order to cover some basics of linear regression, ways of calculating properties of estimators (variance, assymptotic distribution etc). I presume you statistics courses cover this sort of thing (the applied linear course and time series, that is). Might want to clarify that it does in your application, just to avoid confusion.

So, honestly as long as you pick up intermediate micro, then I don't see a problem with your profile as long as you're looking

Bad advice. You need a MSc econ before you apply for PhDs given that you come from Asia. The content of your undergraduate record is irrelevant (and is more than enough in this case - it is obvious that OP has covered the equivalent of multiple undergrad econometrics courses in the US; I don't know what else "Time Series" could mean.). You should also not aim at