Urch Forums

How to choose between the numerous Msc programs in Finance/Economics offered by LSE?

contextual

I am considering applying for Msc programs in the field of Finance and Economics at LSE this fall. The problem I am running into is that there are just too many options and I do not know which one would be most appropriate for me given my career aspirations and level/type of preparation at the undergraduate level. To add to the confusion, I have heard that not all of the programs offered by LSE command the same level of respect and that there are a few that are clearly more rigorous than the others. Can you guys please take a look at my profile/expectations, and let me know your opinion on the different programs at LSE? How do they compare to other Msc programs offered in the US and even other UK programs like Oxford's Msc in Financial Economics?

Student Profile:

I am graduating from a Liberal Arts College in the US and I majored in Mathematical Economics. I was initially interested in getting a phd in Economics and, as a result, ended up taking a ton math classes. However, I changed my mind earlier this year as I wanted to do something a little more applied and gain some work experience before going to graduate school. I have taken Probability Theory (A), Stochastic Processes (A), Numerical Analysis (A), Number Theory (B), Calc 3 (B+), PDE (A), ODE (A), Linear Algebra (A), Econometrics (A), Advanced Econometrics (A), and a bunch of Mathematical Economics electives (A). I have a 3.8 cumulative GPA, 740 GMAT, won the best thesis award in economics, worked as a RA for a number of professors (one of the papers I helped with was published), should be able to get really good recommendations from thesis advisor and the professor I RA'd for, have interned at a top economic consulting firm, and will be starting a full time job with the corporate finance team of a large firm in the US starting this summer.

Expectations from graduate school: