Urch Forums

How bad does lacking a RA letter hurt for PhD application and

soundchaser

I'm a rising senior student from a top Canadian department. I worked with a prof for 8 months but the works were super simple and we had almost no personal interaction. I think it won't result in a letter. Now it's probably too late for me to do another RA as I'm applying for Fall 2016. How much will this hurt? Should I even put it in my SOP?

I have very good grade (likely top grade in my class) and probably 3 good letters from well-publish profs who have taught me. I will write a senior thesis this winter, supervised by a faculty. But we won't be working with a supervisor before January, as in the Fall student will be trained to do research in a small class. Do I have any shot at top 10? Will it compensates my lack of research experience if I wait another year and apply with my thesis experience and supervisor letter? If not, is there anything else I could do?

Thanks!

I'm a rising senior student from a top Canadian department. I worked with a prof for 8 months but the works were super simple and we had almost no personal interaction. I think it won't result in a letter. Now it's probably too late for me to do another RA as I'm applying for Fall 2016. How much will this hurt? Should I even put it in my SOP?

I have very good grade (likely top grade in my class) and probably 3 good letters from well-publish profs who have taught me. I will write a senior thesis this winter, supervised by a faculty. But we won't be working with a supervisor before January, as in the Fall student will be trained to do research in a small class. Do I have any shot at top 10? Will it compensates my lack of research experience if I wait another year and apply with my thesis experience and supervisor letter? If not, is there anything else I could do?

Thanks!