Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation 2016

krkicker

Hello! I am looking for a bit of advice about which schools are good bets for me for this upcoming application cycle. I would say my strengths are my GPA, GRE scores (assuming I do as well on the actual exam as I have been doing in practice), and that I have some good experience within my research interests (both an undergraduate study and RA experience in labor/demographic econ). My weaknesses would be coming from a relatively unknown college, and not having references from well known researches (I suppose a small upside is that I have very close personal relationships with each of them, but that doesn't necessarily make a great recommendation).

Type of Undergrad: B.S. Economics (Le Moyne College - non prestigious Jesuit, Liberal Arts college) - will complete in May 2016

Undergrad GPA: 3.92 (4.0 Econ/Math)

GRE: Taking this August. On practice exams I have been scoring 167+ on Quantitative

Math Courses: Calculus I-III (A), Differential Equations (A), Linear Algebra (A), Numerical Methods (taking this fall), Probability Theory (taking this fall), Real Analysis (taking this spring), Mathematical Statistics (taking this spring)

Econ Courses: Introductory and Intermediate Micro and Macro (As), Economics of Sports (A), Income Inequality Seminar (A), Financial Markets (A), Economic History (A), Global Economic Issues (A), Econometrics (A)

Letters of Recommendation: Professors from Boston College, Syracuse University, and Illinois-Urbana. Not well known researchers but that shouldn't be surprising given my smaller scale school.

Research Experience: Undergraduate thesis about the college major choice, RA for professor (Illinois-Urbana) at Le Moyne College (research focused on predicting talent in youth tennis athletes) , and RA for graduate student at American University

Teaching Experience: Will be Econ Dept TA for my senior year

Research Interests: Labor/Demographic Economics