Urch Forums

Econ PhD - 162 Quant, what are my chances?

Soccer435

I'm looking to apply to Econ PhD programs this fall and trying to determine my chances/where I should aim. I just took the GRE and got a 162 quantitative and a 168 verbal. I have a masters in international economics and research work experience with an economics focus. I have a 3.5 undergrad GPA from a top 20 school, and 3.8 masters' GPA. I have not taken a ton of math courses-- I have taken some stats classes, multivariate calculus, diff eq and linear algebra, and advanced econometrics.

Is my quant score too low to even be looked at by a top 20 school? I am planning to retake the GRE but not sure how big of a difference that will make if I get a 163 or 164. Thank you.

You will almost certainly be automatically screened out of most top-50 programs without a second look unless you have a letter writer with connections who can ensure a more thorough review of your application somewhere. Even a 163 or 164 is probably too low to get much consideration. You want to improve your score to at least 165, but 167+ is ideal if you have hopes of getting an offer from a top-20.

You should post your full profile here if you want an appraisal, but based on the limited information you've provided, I think a top-20 is likely going to be quite a reach unless you've got stellar research experience and letter writers. I say that even assuming you were to get a 167+ quantitative score.

Edited by thagzone

I know several students with 1~63Q at top 40 departments. All of them are American, I believe. It's hard to know whether or not this is typical.

It's certainly possible for a top-50, but I understand the GRE cutoffs are becoming more and more strict each year as the applicant pool grows deeper and more competitive.