Urch Forums

Econ Ph.D. without math in undergrad. Any guidance with next steps?

tylerdurden

Hello everyone!

I would like to thank you all for taking a moment to help me. This is my first time on this site, so if a similar thread already exists please point me in the right direction.

I have recently graduated from college, having double majored in Business/Finance and Accounting, and I currently work in a financial position. Although I believe my background is useful for an Economics Ph.D., I have not had much of an opportunity to take math courses while in undergrad. I do have Statistics and Calculus 1 & 2 on my college transcript but they were all taken during high school (5s on the AP exams). I believe that I am a strong math student that simply never took math courses in college because it was never required in an already full curriculum.

With that said, going forward, I'd really like to explore opportunities in Ph.D. programs. It appears most, if not all, of the top programs require a mathematics background (Linear Algebra, Multivariable Calculus, Econometrics and Differential Equations). Is it true that I should look towards taking these classes before applying to Ph.D. programs, or will there be a "grace period" to complete these math prerequisites once accepted into a program?

In the event I should take the courses before applying, I have been considering enrolling part time at a nearby community college (since it is extremely affordable). Would the fact that I'm fulfilling these requirements at a community college have a negative impact on an application as opposed to spending more money on a school with higher brand equity?

Thanks again for all of the responses and help. I am truly appreciative.