Urch Forums

Will a Course in Computational Matrix Theory be Useful?

cjyNel

Hi all,

I am a junior undergrad at a huge public university in US. I plan to apply to Econ Phd programs in next fall. However, I am not sure which particular field I will focus on at the current moment.

I am wondering whether taking a course in matrix computation would be helpful for graduate study in Econ?

The reason why I think about it is as follows:

1) Though I got an A from an upper-level linear algebra course, I don't think I have a comprehensive knowledge in this subject.

For some reasons, the linear algebra course I took didn't even cover the chapter for orthogonality. (We use Friedberg's text)

I see that the topics in the matrix computation course also require a lot of linear algebra. Maybe I can enhance my linear algebra when taking this course.

2) It seems that numerical analysis is helpful in areas including macro and metrics. But, due to the schedule conflict, I can't take the numerical method sequence from the Math department.

I find this matrix computation course in the computer science department. I am not sure whether this will be a good substitute. (The CS department also provides another numerical analysis course in spring.)

The textbook used is: Numerical methods in Matrix Computations by Ake Bjork

The topics planned to be covered is as follows:

Background: Subspaces, Bases, Orthogonality, Matrices, Projectors, Norms.

Floating point arithmetic. Introduction to Matlab.

Text: Chap 1, parts of sec 1.1 and parts of sec 1.4

Systems of linear equations. Solution of Systems of Linear Equations: matrix

LU factorization. Special matrices: symmetric positive definite, banded.

Text: chap 2, sect. 1.2.1 – 1.2.5

Error analysis, condition numbers, operation counts, estimating accuracy.

Text: Chap 2 – sect. 1.2.7 – 1.2.8, sec. 1.4.3 – 1.4.6

Orthogonality, the Gram-Schmidt process. Classical and modified GramSchmidt.