Urch Forums

How competitive are Fed internships?

remanemporor

US undergrad here, goodish institution (top 100 public university).

The next summer will be the summer between my junior and senior year. I have had about 2 years of experience in econ research as an RA in my university so far, but want to branch out.

I have a few questions about internships in general (which I haven't seen a whole lot of on websites I've gone to).

1. How competitive are the internships?

2. Will an internship at the Fed help you get into grad school (by looking good on your resume)?

3. Should you apply to multiple branches of the Fed to increase your chances?

4. What would be the marginal effect of me interning at the Fed vs. me continuing my RA at my home university over the summer?

Thanks.

I interviewed with the New York Fed and got an offer (but turned it down), so I'll try and answer what I can. Keep in mind this is information for the RA job after college, but I think a lot of it will translate over to summer internships. Hopefully someone else can fill in the gaps:

1) Jobs are fairly competitive. I think people here tend to overestimate just how competitive, but I come from a top university and all of the RAs that I spoke with came from top 15-20 programs or top LACs. I don't know if I saw anyone who was "top 100" -- but this was for the New York fed full time offer, which I believe is the most competitive. It might not be as hard to get an internship at, say, Philly or Boston. I did get rejected by the Richmond fed the summer after my freshman year, but they strongly indicated that it was because of my class year, and told me that I would get it if I applied again after sophomore year.