Urch Forums

Profiles and Results 2016

PortMeadow

I thought I might as well already start this type of thread this year, as all decisions are out and made now, I guess.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: UK Top 3 Econ programme

Undergrad GPA: First (Top 5 in the year)

Type of Grad: UK Top 3 Econ programme

Grad GPA: TBC (so far First level, Top 3 in the year)

GRE: 170Q, 169V, 5.5AW

Math Courses: none ... audited Real Analysis sequence and self-taught some prob and stats theory but nothing on transcripts

Econ Courses: UG: Intro & Intermediate Micro, Macro, Metrics, Advanced Game Theory (all >70); Grad: Micro, Macro, Metrics sequence (all >70), advanced micrometrics, macro, micro, IO (tbc)

Other Courses: politics and philosophy courses (~70 for most)

Letters of Recommendation: one top 50 Repec who liked me (RA'ed for him), one top 750 Repec who seems to like me to (thesis advisor), one business school prof not on repec (ugrad tutor)

Research Experience: master's thesis, one summer RA + paper project arising from this; could possibly call some of my industry internships vaguely research related

Teaching Experience: none

Research Interests: micro theory, behavioural, IO

SOP: stayed down to the facts: explained course system and contents, and described contents of research projects

Other: nothing

RESULTS:

Acceptances: MIT (funding waitlisted, declined before decision known), Stanford (attending), Princeton, Chicago, Chicago Booth, Northwestern, UC San Diego, NYU, Columbia

Waitlists: Yale (declined before decision known)

Rejections: Harvard, HBS, HKS, Stanford GSB, UC Berkeley, Michigan Ann Arbor

Pending: ---

Attending: Stanford