Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Profiles and Results 2016

Trying to make mom and pop proud

3 out of 3 members found this post helpful. Good post? Yes | No

Profiles and Results 2016

Sponsored Ad:
    I thought I might as well already start this type of thread this year, as all decisions are out and made now, I guess.

PROFILE:
    Type of Undergrad: UK Top 3 Econ programme
    Undergrad GPA: First (Top 5 in the year)
    Type of Grad: UK Top 3 Econ programme
    Grad GPA: TBC (so far First level, Top 3 in the year)
    GRE: 170Q, 169V, 5.5AW
    Math Courses: none ... audited Real Analysis sequence and self-taught some prob and stats theory but nothing on transcripts
    Econ Courses: UG: Intro & Intermediate Micro, Macro, Metrics, Advanced Game Theory (all >70); Grad: Micro, Macro, Metrics sequence (all >70), advanced micrometrics, macro, micro, IO (tbc)
    Other Courses: politics and philosophy courses (~70 for most)
    Letters of Recommendation: one top 50 Repec who liked me (RA'ed for him), one top 750 Repec who seems to like me to (thesis advisor), one business school prof not on repec (ugrad tutor)
    Research Experience: master's thesis, one summer RA + paper project arising from this; could possibly call some of my industry internships vaguely research related
    Teaching Experience: none
    Research Interests: micro theory, behavioural, IO
    SOP: stayed down to the facts: explained course system and contents, and described contents of research projects
    Other: nothing

RESULTS:
    Acceptances: MIT (funding waitlisted, declined before decision known), Stanford (attending), Princeton, Chicago, Chicago Booth, Northwestern, UC San Diego, NYU, Columbia
    Waitlists: Yale (declined before decision known)
    Rejections: Harvard, HBS, HKS, Stanford GSB, UC Berkeley, Michigan Ann Arbor
    Pending: ---
    Attending: Stanford