Urch Forums

Daft Undergraduate in Need of a Reality Check

dutchdisease

Hello All,

A while back ago this forum was very helpful to me and I am hoping that it will hold true this time as well. I will try to make this short.

Basically I am a Community College business student preparing to transfer to a four year university. I have a GPA of roughly 3.5. I am interested in pursuing a PHD in economics. The issue is that at this point, it is really only possible for me to go to a few local in state college. None of these colleges are known for their economics programs and really most of them are not known at all if you live outside the state. My plan is essentially to get a double major in economics and mathematics from one of these state colleges.

I guess my first question would be as follows: As a student coming from a little known college where can I realistically hope to place assuming that from this point on I receive a mix of A's and B's in my mathematics major and pretty much all A's in my economics major? Also assume a good GRE score, no research experience, and good letters of recommendation from little know professors.

My second question is a little bit more subjective. I realize what an extremely rigorous path a PHD in economics is compared to other careers. I also cannot say that I am without my doubts. In the past my mathematical skills have been sub-par, (something I have been trying to make up for over the last two semesters) and I know that such a statement in damning. What I really want to know is whether or not I am really cut out for this path if I do take it. Is there any way I can know without going through this whole process so I can avoid making a costly mistake.