Urch Forums

EME at LSE - info request

Kazakh

Hello everyone,

Surprisingly, I was accepted to Master in Econometrics and Mathematical Economics (EME) at LSE last evening. Could anyone comment on the quality of this program, both in terms of teaching and academic/industry placement? I know a little bit about it, but that info is largely based on the times when it was a 2-year program. And, assuming there is no funding issue, would you accept this offer or the offer from Duke MA (2-year program)? Thanks a lot!

Guys, please I really need your input regarding the program! Is it really as brutal as it is rumored to be? Is is really the case that the majority of students at EME are all math, engineering, physics, computer science majors? I just do not want to be left with nothing under my belt in the end except for a ton of suffering. I am an undergrad econ major from an unknown Asian university (not Chinese) with a minor in math, and I just fear so much that I am not ready for this experience.

It ultimately depends on how well you think you can perform in the programme. The programme is brutal, and in order to get distinctions, it'll mean you will have to be working almost non-stop for the whole 9 months, since that's the kind of people that you will be competing against. Don't be fooled into thinking that it's going to be easy, seeing as to how you only need 70 marks for an A.

What kind of math prep do you have?

The challenging course in the programme is the Econometrics sequence. Since they use Wooldridge in their pre-sessional prep, it's safe to assume that you'll be dealing with material on the level fo Hayashi. As for the micro and macro sequence, you're essentially doing first-year PhD equivalents, judging from the readings.