Urch Forums

Applying for non-US masters with a view to continuing with a PhD - chances?

Generichandle

Hi all

With apologies for how early this thread is, I was looking to gather a few second opinions on my chances for various European/Canadian masters programmes starting sep 18, with the caveat that I would probably need full funding to make it viable. My old Econ tutor reckons that I've got a really strong chance, but I just wanted to check.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BA in philosophy, politics and Econ at Oxford (UK citizen)

Undergrad GPA: 1st class, 72% and 75% in Econ modules. 15/240 in the year

Type of Grad: I have a law school msc. Not sure this counts.

Grad GPA: distinction

GRE: haven't taken it yet, hopefully good

Math Courses: the usual required for undergrad micro and metrics

Econ Courses: micro, macro, metrics, game theory

Other Courses: political theory, 3 other philosophy modules

Letters of Recommendation: probably 1 good one from my old tutor and a decent one from another tutor. Both were PhD students at the time and neither have stayed in academia

Research Interests: finance, macro (especially dev), game theory

Other: I have been out of uni for 4 years. 2 years of 'relevant' work experience as a corporate lawyer in a top city of London firm. Including a stint in the capital markets

Right now i have Oxbridge, bgse, and ubc on my radar, though I will probably apply to a few more (i would prefer not to live in London anymore tbh...). I would be fully intending to continue on to a PhD, either at the uni I attend, or elsewhere. I'd be grateful if anyone could provide an honest assessment of my chances, and of how competitive funding would be (eg for UK unis, I would be looking at esrc funding).

Any advice at all would be really appreciated!

Edited by Generichandle

Mention for a little typo, you probably mean BA in PPE at Oxford.