See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Profile Eval

JB1
    Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Profile Eval

Sponsored Ad:
    Any thoughts, suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Wondering what would be considered a reach/target/safety (if there's such a thing) for Econ PhD? Top 20? Top 50? 100? Am I cut out at all? Looking to see where I relatively hold up. I'm interested in Economics of US Immigration, labor, Wages, Skills, etc. so I'll be focusing on Labor Econ programs. I graduated from UMass Amherst 3 years ago and have been working in Analyst positions since. Due to various circumstances outside my control, grad school was not an option earlier, but finally is now. More details about my profile:

Undergrad GPA: 3.89
    Major: Math major (Stat focus), Econ minor. I took Calc 1/2/3 & Advanced Calc; Into to Linear & Upper level advanced Linear Algebra; Stat 1/2; Differential Equations; Nonlinear Dynamics; Discrete Math & Graph Theory; Intermediate Micro & Macro, and Money/Banking.
    GREs: Not taken yet! Although practice tests, including the 2 ETS tests have been 164-166 Q, 153-155V. Still studying for Quant, and hoping to get 168+ on the actual. Also, English isn't my first language (actually my 3rd) if that helps in overlooking the Verbal/Writing scores.

Letters: Professors from: 1) Math class I wrote a 15 page final/presented on the financial crisis using theories learned in class. 2) Honors seminar class in which I wrote a thesis on US immigration. 3) Phd Candidate who lectured upper level Econ class. I didn't get to know Professor well as it was a large class, but I got to know the lecturer well, and had numerous conversations with outside of class/wrote a number of essays for. I know this is a no-no, but perhaps I can get them to co-sign? Aside from this I don't have much from other Econ classes.