Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's the attrition rate in Top 50 department?

Eager!

Good post? Yes | No

What's the attrition rate in Top 50 department?

Sponsored Ad:
    I am currently an undergrad in a top 50 department. From what I see, I think the attrition rate is about 10-15%(at most 2 will leave the program, out of 15). I will be going to a top 30 department next fall and is horrified by its attrition rate. From what I heard, the attrition rate is about 33%(Although the coordinator says it's only about 20%, 20% still sound very high). Moreover, Out of 20 from one particular year, 8 were left. This rate is much higher than my perception. I am wondering if the attrition rate is higher in better departments? Please share attrition rate in top departments so I will have some idea and be more relaxed/horrified.

Edit: Here I am only taking about the attrition rate for the prelim.

Within my grasp!

Good post? Yes | No

Re: What's the attrition rate in Top 50 department?

The attrition rate in my department was insane. It was 50 to 75%. It was not uncommon to see only one or two domestic students survive the prelims, and over half the foreign students vanish their 4th year. I am very confident that my department is either the upper bound or very close to it.

economist

Good post? Yes | No

Attrition rates are all over the place. For example, MIT does not have prelims (although one has to pass the first year course exams). At the other end...well, you saw Kaysa's story.

Eager!

Good post? Yes | No

50% is ridiculous. How will first-year PhDs be brave enough to actually go there?
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaysa View Post