Sponsored Ad:

Thread: Profile Evaluation

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Profile Evaluation

Sponsored Ad:
    Hi all, so I am a sophomore and am thinking of applying for Econ phd after I graduate (2019). Here is my profile:

Undergraduate school: Top 10 school in US (think Columbia, Upenn, Uchi)
    Undergraduate program: BS in applied math, minor in econ and operations research
    GPA: 3.8
    GRE: haven't taken
    Math courses: Multivariable calculus, Linalg, ODE, PDE, Complex variable function, Real Analysis, Discrete time model, Numerical Method, Simulation, Stochastic process, Probability and stats
    Econ courses: Intermediate micro/macro, econometrics (will take advanced econ classes in the future)
    RA: working under an environmental economics project, will be working on an applied math project as well
    TA: TA for two semesters
    Other internships in the financial industry (data analysis and trading support)
    Research interest: financial economics, macroeconomics, applied econometrics

Here are my concerns:
    What schools should I apply for?
    How to improve my profile in order to be competitive in the admission process?
    What if I apply for phd after I work for several years in the industry? Is it feasible?

Any pearls of knowledge will be appreciated.

Eager!

Good post? Yes | No

Re: Profile Evaluation