Urch Forums

Econ Phd Profile Evaluation (Crazy Path)

Double Jump

Hi you guys so just to give you context I completed a bachelors and then a Masters in Accounting. After that masters I completed a post-bac in math and I'm currently completing my MS in math and an additional MS in Econ simultaneously. As you can see listing my coursework that spans multiple degrees at different institutions is quite a challenge with the typical profile format. So I'll be listing my profile chronologically from earliest to most recent (top to bottom). I'll be eclectic with listing courses for sake of simplicity.

Type of Undergrad (1st BA): Econ & Accounting, Top 50 public flagship

GPA: 3.24 (cum); ~3.5 (Econ)

Econ Courses (undergrad): Interm micro (A-), Interm macro (B-), Economics and Law ©, Labor Econ (A), Monetary Policy (A-), International Finance (B+), Intro Metrics I and II (A\B), Public Econ (B)

Type of Grad (Master of Accounting): Same as 1st BA

GPA: 3.79 (cum)

Econ Courses (grad): Theory of IO (A)

Type of Undergrad (Post bac): Mathematics, Urban Commuter School (R2 Institution; quarter system)

GPA: 3.93 (cum)

Math Courses (undergrad): Calculus1-4 (B+\B\A\A), Discrete (A), Intro to differential (A), Group Theory (A), Number Theory (A), Game Theory 1-2 (A/A), Intro Linear Algebra (A), Advanced Calculus 1-2 (A/A), Real Analysis 1-3 (A/A/A), Set Theory and Topology 1-3 (A/A/A), Advanced Linear Algebra 1-2 (A/A), Abstract Algebra 1-3 (A/A/A)

Type of Grad (double masters): MS Math and MS Econ, same school as Post bac

GPA: 4.0 (Math), 4.0 (Econ)

Math Course (Grad): Functional Analysis 1 (A), PDE 1-2 (A/A), Stochastic Processes and Probability Theory 1-3 (A/A/A), Convex Optimization (A), will take Advanced Differential Equations 1-3, will take Modern Analysis 1-3 (convex analysis)

Econ Course (Grad): Micro 1-2 (A/A), Econometrics 1-2 (A/A), Macro 1 (A), will take Econometrics 3, will take Macro 2