Urch Forums

Thoughts on PhD Econ, A interdciplinary PhD Env/Econ or Public Policy

EnvEconMike

Hey guys!

Im michael, and i'd like your input on what is maybe the best route for me given my very particular interests and lack of experience with the American Academic sector.

So, i Hold a Bsc in Economics with a minor in natural resources from a very good Latin american University, with a grade average of 7.8/10. I basically worked full time and studied at the same time.. all in all 2 years in government and 3 in private sector.

Quit, it alll to become research assistant on environmental economics research for 6 months. Worked some more, and later got a full scholarship from the Ecuadorian Government to do an MSc in environmental economics and climate change at the London School of Economics. Loved it. graduated with a merit... did well on my exams but didnt do as amazing on my thesis, given that we had a MASSIVE earthquake in ecuador and my data failed to come thru, but hey i still did well. Took modules on valuation, and ecosystem services in the global south, besides quantitative methods, environmental economics and natural resource economics and climate change economics.

Came back to Ecuador late 2016! designed a short course for my undergrad uni which i taught on climate change economics and local issues - so a 2 months teaching experience.

By jan 2017 i joined the Charles Darwin research station for the Galapagos Islands as an Environmental Economist, doing research into 2 projects, one of them very linked to my masters dissertation. Im still working with them.

Sept 2017 i shared preliminary results at the IMPAC4 conference through an oral presentation (international marine protected areas conference) - its an environmental economics paper that i hope to have published by the end of the year