See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: PHD in Economics--need advice

Eager!

3 out of 3 members found this post helpful. Good post? Yes | No

Re: PHD in Economics--need advice

Sponsored Ad:
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaysa View Post
    Honestly, I would not bother attending these phd programs. Your employment options are going to be terrible.
    This is terrible advice. I am a professor at one of the (weaker) schools on her list. We place students at good academic jobs and excellent non-academic jobs.

If you love the prospect of doing academic-style research, go to a good school that has faculty that match your research interests. You'll do what you love. If you do well, you'll have a great job. Make sure you explain in your application why you are a good match for the school. Once you are accepted, have a talk with the Director of Graduate Studies to learn more about the program and whether it is the best match for you.

Regarding the GRE, retake it if you can. But it isn't too low to be considered by many of the schools on your list, esp if your math grades are mostly As and Bs. We, for example, select just as much on the analytical and verbal scores. The fact is that some schools in the 30-70 range select mainly on math and others are looking for sufficient math and skills in other areas. Some of this depends on the fields that departments specialize in. They end up with very different types of students.

Eager!

Good post? Yes | No