Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with profile evaluation

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Help with profile evaluation

Sponsored Ad:
    I'm a UK-based student, currently doing an MSc and applying for PhDs in econ for Fall 2018. I'm trying to figure out where I should aim to get accepted. Would that potentially be top10, top20, top30 or maybe lower? I'd really appreciate your suggestions.

Undergraduate

Type of Undergrad: Top 3-5 UK uni for economics and maths
    Major: Economics and statistics (basically 50/50)
    GPA: 80% (First-Class honours)
    Maths: two-semester analysis, one-semester linear algebra, set theory, multivariate calculus (all 1st class honours, top 5% of the class); loads of statistics courses (all of them 1st clas honours).
    Economics: 12 courses in total, mathematical economics, intermediate level micro, macro and econometrics (almost all 1st class honours).
    Thesis: (macroeconomics)Top 1 in almost 400 students cohort; received a departamental prize for that

Graduate

Type of Grad: Oxbridge
    Major: Statistics
    GPA: won't be available before I apply for PhD.
    Courses: loads of advanced mathematical statistics.

GRE
    : 169 Quant

Research Experience
    - Two internships in governments related to macro policy.
    - Research assistant at a national research institution.

I know it might not be enough information to give an accurate evaluation, but I was wondering whether based on that you could make a suggestion how I stand among applications from the US and what sort of range of unis I should apply to. Cheers!
    Last edited by greg3; 11-08-2017 at 05:59 PM.

Good post? Yes | No

Re: Help with profile evaluation

anyone?

Good post? Yes | No

I am assuming that your undergraduate GPA is around 3.2 in the American system. Then that might be your problem. It would help to know which classes you did not do as well.